## OVERSEAS TELECOMMUNICATIONS VETERANS ASSOCIATION

## 59th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Meeting held at NSW Bowler's Club on Friday, 12 June 2015

**Meeting Opened:** 12:00 pm by the president

Members present: Peter Bull, Peter Allan, Ernie Anthoney, Les Ayres, Tom Barker, John Eades, Colin Kelly, Allan Hennessy, Ray Hookway, Ted Miles, Keith McCredden, Mick Quinlan, Peter Rexstraw, David Richardson, Jim Simpson, Ross Smith, Robin Tuckfield, Bernie White, Will Whyte, Neil Yakalis.

Apologies: Bob Lions, Peter Grove, Mick Wilden, Bob Emanuel, Paul McCann, Matt Saunders, Brian Hoschke, Bill Jolly, Ross Beaumont, Kevan Bourke, Geoff Shaw, John Phillips, Henry Cranfield, Terry Etherington, Dave Alder, Kevin O'Brien, Chris Maloy, Peter Hitchiner, Ron Lukin, Trevor Pike, Alan Cabrera, Peter Shore, Dave Wicks, Michael Peck, Noel Chapman, John J McDermott, Joe Dingli, Mark Roberts, Ian Warby, Gareth Davey, Paul Gallard, Trevor Clay, Richard Cleave, Steve Gray, MO'Connor, John Hughes, Dean Veverka, Tony Fisher, Ted Bastow, Chris McMahon, Col Jones, Brian Travis, Tony Bradney, John Nematalla, Brian Brennan, Greg Martyn, Peter Burgess, Tony Farrugia, Mick Callaghan, Rob McAulay, Jeff Hinwood, Tony Stuart, Garry Hausfeld, Brian Curran, Ross Craig, RJ Taylor, Bill Breeze, Jim Hulme, Ben McGee, Vernon Yen, David Charrett, John Taylor, Tony Lowther, Steve Marshall, Peter Trebeck, Dan Testa, Ross Craig, Charlie Maiden.

<u>Welcome:</u> The president welcomed those present thanking members for their attendance.

<u>One minutes silence</u> was observed to remember those members who had passed away in the last year.

Minutes: The minutes from the 58<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting held on Friday 13<sup>th</sup> June 2014 were moved by Peter Allan, seconded by Jim Simpson and adopted.

**Matters arising:** Nil

<u>Presidents Address:</u> Peter Bull addressed the meeting highlighting the achievements of the association over the past year, appealing for a new treasurer and for new stories for the Newsletter. See attached for the full text.

<u>Treasurer's report:</u> The treasurer tabled an audited financial report dated 30 April 2015. A surplus of income over expenditure has been recorded as \$4,150.33 with assets of \$29,288.56. The meetings attention was drawn to:

- Bernie White is retiring as treasurer due to eyesight and mobility issues
- Thanks to our auditors, Ken Theaker and Tony Farrugia
- An overview of where our funds are held
- An overview of membership statistics
- The larger than normal income due to many members taking up the enduring membership offer
- An outline of the treasurer's role and responsibilities

A motion to receive the reports and extend our deep appreciation to Allan Hennessy and Bernie White for their conscientious work over a long period was moved by David Richardson, seconded by Colin Kelly and adopted.

<u>Life member nominations:</u> Nominations received for George Maltby and Cyril Vhatrick. Tom Barker supported and spoke to both nominations noting their loyalty and involvement in much of OTC's history. The motion was seconded by Jim Simpson and adopted.

A further nomination was made by Colin Kelly for the president, Peter Bull. Colin spoke to the nomination which was seconded by John Eades with the meeting concurring unanimously.

## **Election of Office Bearers:**

Tom Barker acted as Returning Officer.

After declaring all positions vacant, the Returning Officer called for nominations and the Meeting resolved unanimously to make the following appointments:

President: Peter Bull
Vice-President: Kevin O'Brien
Secretary: Will Whyte

Treasurer: Nomination received for Alex Ebert. A second nomination for

Robin Tuckfield was moved by John Eades and seconded by Peter

Allan. The meeting voted in favor of Robin Tuckfield.

Subscriptions officer: Allan Hennessy

Auditors: Ken Theaker and Tony Farrugia

Newsletter Editor: Peter Allan

Committee Members: The above office bearers and

Henry Cranfield Ray Hookway Colin Kelly David Richardson Bernie White Bob Dean

<u>Incoming President's Address:</u> Peter Bull congratulated the reelected members and the newly elected treasurer, Robin Tuckfield. Full address attached.

**General Business:** 1. Neil Yakalis has arranged a tour of Victoria Barracks on Thursday 18 June.

2. Questions about the future of the OTVA were raised and discussed. It was noted that the Enduring Membership option has actually increased financial membership numbers.

Meeting closed: The meeting closed at 1:23 pm. Lunch in the Red Room

followed

Peter Bull President